Another Great Bread Machine Recipe – Seedy Hearth Bread

Mmmm! Hearty Country Seed Breads

Since returning to work, albeit part-time, I am looking for faster ways to continue my homemade only bread eating habit. I love bread, but I hate buying it. It’s expensive if it’s made well, and it’s crappy if it’s cheap. While on my maternity leave I explored the world of artisan bread baking and fell in love. Anything aritisinal though conjures up images of hours of loving labour being poured into the craft, and while I love making beautiful hearth breads, I now have better things to do than babysit rising dough. This is where the trusty bread machine comes in. While I’m less than thrilled with baking bread in the bread machine (I hate the shape of the loaves and the divot in the bottom of it left from the paddle spoke, or even worse, the paddle if I forget to remove it before the cook cycle starts) I do love the bread machine’s dough function. So here is my favourite bread machine modified hearth bread recipe, and it tastes nearly as good as if I kneaded it for 20 minutes by hand. This makes 2 small 1lb round loaves or 1 big 2lb loaf.

water 1 cup
apple juice 1/3 cup
skim milk  powder 1/4 cup (I used buttermilk powder)
salt 1 1/2 tsp.
honey 3 tbsp.
shortening 3 tbsp.
whole wheat flour 1 1/4 cups
all-purpose flour
or bread flour
2 1/3 cups (I used 2c all-purpose flour and 1/3 c wheat germ)
flax seeds, ground 1/3 cup
sunflower seeds,
raw & unsalted
1/4 cup
sesame seeds 2 tbsp. (I did 1 tbsp sesame seeds and 1 tbsp poppy seeds. You can do whatever you want as long as the total is the same.)
bread machine yeast 2 tsp.

Measure ingredients into baking pan according to your bread machine’s manufacturer. Select the Dough Cycle (unless you plan to bake this in your machine and then select whole wheat cycle for a large 2lb loaf).

Tip: Keep your seeds and nuts from becoming rancid by storing them in an airtight container in your fridge or freezer.

Now I did this on the dough cycle and then took it out and divided it into two rounds and covered it and let it rise for ~60 mins (until double) I scored the loaves with a cross and then baked at 375F for ~35 min (give or take 5 min on either side depending on your oven. Longer for a big 2lb loaf. Loaf is done when brown on top and sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom). ENJOY!!!!

p.s.- This recipe is adapted from a recipe on the Healthy Picnics Website where you can find many other great bread machine recipes too.

One thought on “Another Great Bread Machine Recipe – Seedy Hearth Bread

Leave a Reply

